Guest blog: Tori and Erin


Tori, Jenny, Erin

Hey! This is Tori and Erin from Warrensburg, Missouri in the United States of America; we have had the pleasure of staying with Jenny and her family this week in Lindesberg!  She has been a wonderful hostess, we have learned so much about Sweden from her, honestly we could not have asked for a better family to stay the week with.  It has been great that she has so much experience traveling, visiting America and with that she has been able to explain things very well.  The main reason we are in Sweden is to study the differences between teaching techniques and the school systems in general.  Why Lindesberg?  We ask why not?  Well, we attend the University of Central Missouri in Warrensburg and we have a connection with the University in Örebro and they were kind enough to set up host families for 9 students, BUT we were the luckiest ones because we got assigned to the best family.  

I, Tori, am in the Stadsskogsskolan, which teaches the ages 13-15.  I want to teach secondary education, specializing in biology and that is why they placed me at Stadsskogsskolan.  I absolutely love the teachers, the students, and the school.  I was very impressed with how well the students spoke English and it surprised me to find out that the mistakes made in Sweden are the same exact mistakes students are making back home while studying English.  Everyone has been so kind and welcoming, I was very nervous coming to the school being a girl from America who could not speak Swedish and I was not sure what they would think of me.  I now think that was so ridiculous to be worried, they made me feel right at home to the point where I do not want to leave!  

I, Erin, am in Brotorpsskolan, a school for the lower years.  I as well have been welcomed with open arms.  The students are spectacular; they are so full of energy and come to school prepared to learn everyday!  The teachers are excellent it is obvious from the moment you walk in that they are working hard to plan interesting and meaningful lessons for their students.  I was happy to find that the students are so independent with their learning, it was refreshing to see.  The students have been asking great questions and practicing their English while at the same time teaching me Swedish.  I am not very good. 


Kommentarer
Postat av: anna

Jenny is famous for her excellent hostess-skills so I'm not surprised that you like staying with her ;) Hope you'll have a great remaining experience in sweden! Greetings from Malmö.

2011-03-23 @ 23:04:37

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0